Minutes California Teleconnect Fund (CTF) Administrative Committee Meeting

California Public Utilities Commission, 505 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco – Golden Gate Room 10:00 am to 2:30 pm, March 13, 2015

Members present: Russ A. Selken (Chairperson), Sean McLaughlin, Jeff Mondon, Ana Montes, Calvin Chang, Linda Crowe, Chris Ungson

Staff present: Sindy Yun (Legal Division); Kim Hua, Karo Serle, Lauren Saine, Faline Fua, Jonathan Lakritz (Communications Division)

Public participants: Robert Lehman, ORA

1) Introductions

The Committee sent its best wishes for the good health of Richard Matthews.

- 2) Public comments There were no public comments.
- 3) Approval of previous meeting minutes The minutes were approved as corrected.
- 4) Budget Report and Surcharge Increase Kim Hua

Kim Hua informed the committee that staff expects the FY 2016-17 budget to be similar to the 2015-16 budget.

The Communications Division will request commission approval for a surcharge increase from 0.93% to 1.08% effective June 1, 2015, to cover the expenses in the 2015-16 budget of \$148 million.

5) Applications Report - Karo Serle

Jeff Mondon requested staff to report the data on libraries and schools separately, and Linda Crowe echoed that request. Calvin Chang asked for a trend analysis of the application data.

Russ Selken informed the committee the K12 High Speed Network is comparing their database of schools to the list of schools in the CTF database.

6) Claims Report, including number of claims processed and claims pending YTD, submission dates of pending claims, and average turnaround time for approval after claim submitted - Kim Hua

Kim Hua reported that 75 carriers have filed claims this year.

Jeff Mondon reported that the turnaround time for AT&T claims has increased over the last two years.

7) Federal and state legislative update, including E-Rate and impact on CTF,

Russ Selken presented a summary and analysis of the E-Rate and Last-Mile Fund.

Fay Fua reported that a bill adding CSU auxiliaries, AB 1503, has been introduced. Chris Ungson reported there is also a bill to change the high-speed designation for the CASF.

The Committee discussed whether to support AB 1503. Ana Montes expressed extreme concern over the size of the fund, and Jeff Mondon raised the question of whether this change would meet program goals to close the digital divide.

Sean McLaughlin requested staff to track the proceedings of the California Broadband Council. Sean serves as a member of the Working Group on Overcoming Local Barriers to Deployment and Adoption for the Council.

8) OIR Status Report - Fay Fua

Staff expects a Proposed Decision to be issued in the near future.

- 9) Update on K12HSN meeting with Commissioner Peterman Russ Selken
- 10) Update on AC Conflict of Interest rule Sindy Yun
- 11) Discussion of whether to recommend adding a seat on the AC for community colleges,

Chris Ungson informed the community colleges have requested representation on the committee and urged the committee to support adding a community college representative. The committee discussed the request in depth and did not reach a consensus but decided to invite a community college representative to a meeting to provide more information.

Sean McLaughlin moved that the committee inform the Executive Director that it had received information that the community colleges have requested representation and will invite the community colleges to make a presentation; that the committee will review that information and make recommendation to amend charter based on a review of the overall framework for representation on the administrative committee. Linda Crowe seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

- 12) AC Annual Report tabled
- 13) Election of new CTF-AC Chair and Vice Chair

The committee elected Russ Selken as Chair and Sean McLaughlin as Vice Chair, by unanimous votes.

14) Next meeting date – The next meeting date will be set via email.